Olympic basketball

Olympic Basketball is one of the most successful summer games in the world, more common than the FIBA World Cup

Gradually, this has been a worldwide theme. Both men’s and women’s basketball was in attendance at the Olympics. 1936 was the first time that men hosted the Summer Olympics, while women’s basketball made its debut at the 1976 Summer Olympics. 

The United States is by far the most active nation in Olympic basketball, with America’s men’s teams winning 15 of the 18 tournaments they competed in, including 7 straight championships from 1936 to 1968. Women’s Teams The United States has won 8 championships out of the 10 tournaments they contested, including 6 straight titles from 1996 to 2016. 

Outside the United States, Argentina is the last nation left to win the tournament. A man or a woman. Some nations such as the Soviet Union (Soviet Union), Yugoslavia (Yugoslavia) and the Unified Team (United Team) are countries that are no longer participating. The United States is the defending champion at both men’s and women’s tournaments. 

On June 9, 2017, the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee announced that 3×3 basketball will become the new Olympic sport for both men and women after the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.


ABL stands for the ASEAN Basketball League, composed of six teams from Southeast Asian nations, including one from Hong Kong, one from China, two from Taiwan. One team from Macau, one team from Singapore, one team from Thailand, one team from Indonesia, one team from Malaysia and one team from Vietnam. The tournament was proposed for the first time in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and was opened on 1 October 2009 with six clubs from six different countries participating in the 2009-10 season.


VBA stands for Vietnam Basketball Association-a professional basketball league formed in 2016 with 5 teams including: Saigon Heat, Danang Dragons, Hanoi Buffaloes, Cantho Catfish, Hochiminh City Wings. Before the start of the 2017 season, Thang Long Warriors was named to the tournament as his sixth team. 

Currently, the VBA teams include: Cantho Catfish (Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho), Danang Dragons (Hai Chau District, Da Nang), Hanoi Buffaloes (Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi), Hochiminh City Wings (District 3, Ho Chi Minh City), Saigon Heat (District 7, Ho Chi Minh City), Thang Long Warriors (Cau Giay District, Hanoi).